top of page

Mass Media Vanguards


By Paige Hawkins

Kayla Martin

Juniors Kayla Martin and Edmond Harden have been reviving the spirit of Clark Atlanta University’s Mass Media Arts department. Both students have wasted no time in cultivating their desired media careers. Their return to campus has allowed them to make strides with their crafts in fashion, radio and film.


Martin, a Mass Media Arts major with a concentration in public relations and a fashion merchandising minor, is from Memphis, Tennessee. Harden, also known as Ed, grew up in Decatur and is majoring in mass media arts with a concentration in radio, television and film.


The Panther received the opportunity to speak with Martin and Harden about their emergence from the Mass Media Arts department and what they are working on in their fashion and broadcasting careers.


Q: Why did you choose Clark Atlanta University?


Martin: I chose Clark Atlanta because I wanted to come to a school that I knew would prepare me for my career. Both the mass media and fashion departments have great professors who care about their students succeeding.


Harden: I chose Clark Atlanta because it has the best mass media program centered on Blackness and is the university that makes the Atlanta University Center, the AUC.


Q: Do you believe your Blackness bloomed at the Atlanta University Center?


Martin: HBCU culture has always been a big part of my life since I am from the south. Seeing young Black people get degrees and go on to be successful in ways that they dreamed of as children is so inspiring and one of the main reasons I chose an HBCU. Having peers and professors who look like me in a space meant for our professional, social and personal growth has allowed me to begin to blossom into the woman I want to be. From the creativity and innovation to the activism from the people in Atlanta and Clark Atlanta specifically, I have been inspired time and time again.


Harden: It most definitely grew on me. Going to a predominantly white high school made it hard for me to find my identity and show my true self. In the Atlanta University Center though, I am allowed to be my most authentic self in all expressions of creativity.


Q: What has being back on campus done for your character and career?


Martin: Being back on campus has definitely helped me creatively. Every day I am inspired by something new whether it is seeing other students or listening to my professors talk. I have gotten involved in organizations and networked more than I ever have before. Leaving as a freshman and coming back as a junior definitely planted a seed in me that is determined to grow and flourish.


Edmond Harden

Harden: We lost a lot of opportunities networking sophomore year. Because I am back on campus, I have been very lucky to obtain a job with Warner Media through my in person-connections, and it feels amazing to be working in my major.


Q: You both left as freshmen and returned as juniors. What do you plan on doing to make up for lost time?

Martin: I am taking nothing for granted. Every moment I have with my friends and even the people I meet day to day means something to me. I have also decided to get in my bag and stay in my bag because I am proving to myself that no setback can stop me.


Harden: I do not think about it as lost time, but I have gained a mentality to go hard. We are juniors and next year we will be graduating, so it is time to work.



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page