top of page

Well-dressed Student: Ezekiel Mcghee


By Asha Breedlove


Junior Mass Media Arts Major Ezekiel Mcghee is a thriving force in the upcoming fashion influencer world. Securing his love of fashion from his older brothers, Ezekiel makes sure that every outfit he puts on is well memorable. Ezekiel is truly someone to watch out for in the fashion world with his mixing of street style and artistic clothing pieces.



Ezekiel has been mentioned twice as an Essence Magazine "Best Dressed Black Creatives on Instagram" for January and April, so it was a clear choice that the Panther received the opportunity to interview him and be named the best-dressed male student for this edition.


Q: Who are some of your fashion inspirations?

A: I'm inspired by Kanye West; Pyer Moss is a big designer inspo for me too. I think I have a lot of influencer inspirations too. The biggest one is Darion Famous. He works with a lot of brands [like] Nike and so many other people. Another good influencer is Wez G00d. I would say those are my top biggest fashion inspos.


Q: Who do you get your sense of style from?

A: I would say, my two brothers. My oldest brother is eight years older than me, so growing up, the trends that kids would wear, my brothers would tell me “Don't wear that, wear this.” I would say my older brothers played a big role in my fashion development. I remember in middle school, I would always wear both of my older brothers’ clothes. They would get so mad at me. But I guess it worked out -- now they want my clothes.


Q: What are your thoughts on style v fashion?

A: I would say style is personal. It would be like just how you put your pieces together -- the overall vibe you get from the look. Fashion is what the producers want you to wear. Fashion is telling you what you're supposed to wear, while style is more of yourself, your own sense of style, and self-expression.


Q: Have you always been into fashion? Can you describe your fashion journey?

A: I would say yeah. I would say I've always been into fashion, like now I know this is something I'm good at just so effortlessly. Now that I take fashion courses, I'm just able to be more educated on it, which allows me to bring a more sophisticated look to fashion.

Q: How do you always keep your style elevated?

A: I do a lot of research. Like I'm always looking. I'm always looking at what brands are doing. I always go out and shop, whether online or when I go out and see something, or even brands on Instagram. You just [have] to be aware of what's coming out. That's a big thing to be elevated. When you get into influencing, you’re influencing fashion, and you're influencing people on what to wear. So, you must be ahead of trends. You have to set the trends. You need to know what's going to pop, what's going to boom.

Q: If you style one person, who would it be and why?

A: I would style Zendaya. I just feel like she can do a lot. She is just so versatile. I would love to put a vintage look on her. Like a nice couture, 1920s inspired, designer outfit. I think Zendaya is limitless when it comes to outfits and looks.


If you want to see more of Ezekiel’s many different looks and anything else he has going on be sure to follow him on his socials @ezekieluriah on Instagram and @ezekieluriah on Twitter.



55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page