top of page

Get to know Jeydah Jenkins: The first Afro-Latina to become Miss Clark Atlanta University By: Giana




By Giana Levy


On April 16, 2021, Jeydah Jenkins was elected the 33rd Miss Clark Atlanta University, making history as the university’s first Afro-Latina titleholder. Campaigning under the theme “The Voice of the Students” with the platform “I Got You: A Promise That Won’t Be Broken,” Jenkins promoted to bridge the gap between administration, alumni and students. Showcasing leadership, encouraging school pride, helping students in need and bringing life back to the school yard post COVID-19 were the promises Jenkins made that ultimately led her to victory and a historic win.


Prior to her rise to royalty, Jenkins did not foresee herself becoming a campus queen at first. Growing up in New Jersey as the oldest sibling and a first generation college student, being a positive role model for her siblings and making her family and community proud were her initial priorities when she entered Clark Atlanta University.


The Panther received the opportunity to speak with the campus queen and learn about her background, culture, plans after graduation and more.



Q: Being half Dominican and half African-American, what was life like for you growing up?


A: I was born in Jersey City, and it is one of the most diverse cities in the country. I had friends of all different cultures, loved trying different foods and it was really fun. My parents are separated. So, not only are they separated culturally but also in the household. During the week, I would stay with my mother who was born in the Dominican Republic, making me a first generation American. Everyday I would listen to her speak Spanish and make empanadas with my grandmother. My father is from Newark, New Jersey. He taught me how to be an activist in my community. My father made sure that I knew what it was like being a Black person in America, especially when you do not know exactly where you come from. It was very interesting having my mother who knew her Dominican history and having my father teach me what I needed to know about being African-American. It was and still is beautiful. I love going home especially during the holidays. On one end, I would be eating rice and beans and empanadas with my mother. When I go to my father’s house, I would eat macaroni and cheese and collard greens. It was always so much fun. There would be a mix of salsa and merengue with hip-hop and R&B. I really love being able to experience the best of both worlds.


Q: Because you experience two different cultures, have you ever struggled with your identity?


A: There was a time in my life where I felt I had to pick a side. I felt that I was too Hispanic for one side of my family and too American for the other side of my family, which played a role in my identity. Around 13 years old, I decided to go on a self-discovery journey. I did a big chop to my hair and fell in love with my curly hair. I realized that it is okay that I am this beautiful Black girl with big curly hair and an accent because I found other people that were also like me. In the beginning it was a struggle and a lot of pressure being a first generation college student, but I know it was all out of love. With the advice and love from my friends and family, I realized that I am exactly who and where I need to be.


Q: When you came to Clark Atlanta University, a school where the majority of its student population identifies as African-American, in what ways did that impact your identity?


A: It did not impact my identity because, while a lot of people do identify as African-American, many are from different areas. I joined Atlanta University Center (AUC) Vybz, an organization for students who identify as Caribbean and found a community there. I was also on the e-board for the AUC Afro-Latinidad club. I did not feel isolated at all because I believed that people were really interested to know more about my culture. I felt appreciated because my culture was something new to certain people and familiar to others.


Q: What made you decide to attend Clark Atlanta University to further your education?


A: I always wanted to go to a historically Black college and university (HBCU). I always wanted to be around students who looked like me, thought like me, shared similar experiences and be in the presence of Black excellence. I am a Mass Media Arts major, and I felt that it would be crazy for me to not come here. Clark Atlanta University has so much rich history with our parent institutions Clark College and Atlanta University in addition to being next to Spelman, Morehouse, and Morris Brown; it is amazing. There is no place in the world like the AUC, which drew me to Atlanta. Atlanta being referred to as “Black Hollywood” and providing so many different opportunities within the media industry attracted me as well. Even though I live 15 minutes away from New York, I wanted to experience something new and learn how to be independent.


Q: As a Mass Media Arts major, what are your plans after graduation?


A: The plan is to go to graduate school. I do not want to be in Atlanta. Although I do love it here, I want to explore, travel and network across the country while I am still young. My absolute end goal would be to have a career in broadcast journalism. I would love to have my own talk show and channel network.


Q: As a senior, what valuable life lesson have you learned while at Clark Atlanta University?


A: A valuable life lesson that I have learned is to network. Networking is not something that they will teach you in the books or class that you can take. Networking is who you are and making sure that you are being genuine which leads to building connections.


Q: Knowing what you know now, what advice would you give to your younger self?


A: Breathe and trust yourself. Trust your ability and God. It will all work out.


Outside of being a scholar and campus queen, Jenkins is also a student entrepreneur. She has an empanadas business called Jeypanadas. For more information about how to support Jeypanadas, follow her business page on Instagram @jeypanadas.







413 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page