top of page

CAU Alumni: Kandis Z. Thorpe

Updated: Nov 15, 2020



 

1. Can you state your name and the department that you graduated from.


My name is Kandis Z. Thorpe, and I graduated from the Whitney M. Young Jr., School of Social Work, Class of 2020.


2. You graduated during a global pandemic. How did that impact your transition out of CAU? How did it impact you mentally?


Graduating during a pandemic was unexpected and caused feelings of sadness and anger because I was in disbelief and was anticipating walking across the stage in an actual commencement ceremony. What helped me navigate through that tough time was the responsibility of leading the GLS Mental Health Ambassador program on campus before it was happening. GLS Mental Health Ambassadors was established in 2017 to support and empower peers during times of mental distress and guide them in the transition to the counseling center. Knowing that I had to be the voice that would influence others to focus on their mental health in this unprecedented change in life moved me to be intentional in seeking out therapy for myself. Being apart of that ambassador program made it easier for me to understand my stress levels and take how I was feeling and move it into action to create change. It helped me understand that this is not happening to me, but for me, and looking back, I believe it was a monumental moment that actualized our motto, “I’ll Find a Way or Make One.” Through all of the adversity, the perfect vision class faced, we found our way and made one, and it doesn’t end there.


3. How has a life after CAU been? Are you in graduate school? Are you working?


Life after CAU has been a blessing in the midst of troubling times. I am currently in graduate school at Columbia University, getting my Masters of Science in Social Work in the Advanced Standing program, which allows me to graduate in April 2021. I am currently in New York, NY gaining hours towards my licensing working with youth in Harlem at the Brotherhood Sister Sol, a youth development non-profit. Moving in the middle of a pandemic was a risk, but overall I am proud that I made the leap of faith and can say it was the best decision I’ve made for the start of my career, and I am grateful for this opportunity.



4. Looking back at your time on the campus of CAU, would you do anything differently? Why or Why not?


Looking back, I would not change anything or do anything differently as my actions and decisions are what got me to where I am today. Transferring into Clark Atlanta University from Pitt Community College in Greenville, NC, I had a goal to meet people through being involved on campus in my sophomore year. Being involved in only the organizations that aligned with my values activated my purpose and gave me life long friends and connections.


5. What advice would you give to:

a) incoming freshman:

To incoming freshman and transfers, I would say to enjoy and be in the moment with your peers. This historical time is a monumental moment that can move you into greatness If you let it. Don’t be discouraged because the world is moving slower than it did before; instead, take it as an opportunity to make deeper connections with your classmates as these are the people you will be with until you graduate. Things may be different because of the pandemic but do not let it steal your joy; find new ways to do what you’ve always wanted to do on campus virtually and get out of your comfort zone because growth does not happen there.


b) graduating seniors:

To graduating seniors, I am proud of you and all you have overcome to get this point. My advice to you is to be patient and have grace for yourself, especially in these times. Do not think you have to do everything on your own because you have a community of alumni and professors wanting and willing to help you move onto the next stage of your life. Use your network as a stepping stone because we’ve all been there before. Be encouraged on your journey of finding the next step in your life and know that what God has for you will never miss you, but you must be willing to put yourself out there and take risks for that to happen.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page